Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Captains in the IPL Seasons

A captain is the most important part of any team. He is the leader of the group and has to make all the decisions in the game. The success of a team largely depends on the skills of its captain. In this article, I will give a description of the various captains of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) during the various IPL seasons.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)are one of the best teams in the IPL. They are among the favorites to win the title this time in IPL 5. With a fine blend of overseas players and Indian talent, once again the RCB look all set to dominate the IPL stage.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have had 4 captains so far in the IPL seasons. They are:

  1. Rahul Dravid

  2. Kevin Pietersen

  3. Anil Kumble

  4. Daniel Vettori

Now lets have a look at each of them:

Rahul Dravid - Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Captain in IPL 2008

India's greatest test batsman, Rahul Dravid was the first captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) . He captained RCB in the first edition of IPL in 2008. Though a great player, Dravid did not have a successful time as captain of RCB. Under his captaincy, RCB won only 4 out of 14 matches in IPL 2008 and were 2nd last team in the series. Rahul Dravid's failure as captain of RCB can be largely attributed to poor team combination and lack of proper strategy. After IPL 2008, RCB's captaincy role was passed on to Kevin Pietersen.

Kevin Pietersen - Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Captain in IPL 2009

After the poor performance of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL 2008, the captaincy changed hands from Rahul Dravid to England's stylish batsman, Kevin Pietersen. Pietersen was given the responsibility to lead the side in IPL 2009 in South Africa. But the captaincy woes for RCB continued. Under Pietersen's captaincy, RCB just won 2 match and lost 5 matches in their first 7 matches of IPL 2009. There were some serious problems in the RCB camp regarding the captaincy issue.

There were many talks whether to drop Pietersen or not and as to who is suitable to captain RCB. Jacques Kallis or Anil Kumble were the front-runners. But things were made easier when Kevin Pietersen had to leave the IPL mid-way through the tournament to play international cricket. The role of captaincy was now handed over to the legend, Anil Kumble.

Anil Kumble - Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Captain in IPL 2009-10

After Pietersen's brief stint as RCB captain, the great Indian bowler and legend Anil Kumble was given the responsibility of leading the team to success in the remaining 7 matches of IPL 2009. And Kumble did not disappoint. Under Kumble, RCB won 6 matches and lost just 1 match!! Kumble's quick-witted thinking and good planning ensured success for RCB. Kumble also led by example by being the highest wicket taker for RCB in IPL 2009 and had the best bowling figures of 5/5 in 4 overs (5 wickets for 5 runs).

In total RCB won 8 of the 14 league matches and qualified for the semi-finals. They defeated Chennai Super Kings in the semi-final and progressed to the final. But they lost to Deccan Chargers in the finals. Though RCB lost the final of IPL 2009 , it was a great achievement for RCB from their previous IPL season.

Kumble's success ensured that he will stay as captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore for IPL 2010 as well. And once again Kumble did a great job both as player and captain. In IPL 2010 RCB won 7 matches and lost 7 matches and managed to reach the semi-finals once again. But this time they lost to Mumbai Indians in the semis. They won the 3rd place play-off match against Deccan Chargers and became the 3rd best team of IPL 2010.

Daniel Vettori - Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Captain in IPL 2011-Present

Anil Kumble was looking all set to captain Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2011 as well, but few months before the tournament, he announced his retirement from IPL. Now it was a difficult decision as to who should captain RCB. It was difficult to fill Kumble's shoes who had great success as captain. It was decided that, the then New Zealand captain and ace spinner, Daniel Vettori would captain Royal Challengers Bangalore in the fourth season of IPL in 2011. And Vettori just continued from where Kumble left off. In the league stage RCB won 9 of the 14 matches.

With great fire-power in his armory in the form of Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Dilshan and Zaheer Khan, Vettori led RCB to their 2nd IPL final. But even Vettori could not break the 'Finals Jinx' of Royal Challengers Bangalore. RCB once again lost in the IPL final to Chennai Super Kings and finished runners up. Vettori also captained RCB to the finals of the Champions League T20 in 2011 which again they lost to Mumbai Indians.

Daniel Vettori is still the present captain of RCB and it will be his rsposiblity to once again lead the side to success in IPL 2012 and possibly win the IPL Trophy this time.

Wishing Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) ALL THE BEST in IPL 2012!!!

Also Read:

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Squad for IPL 2012
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) IPL 2012 Tickets
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) SWOT Analysis - IPL 2012
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Statistics & Records
Royal Challengers Bangalore Record at the IPL (All Seasons)
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium - the home ground of Royal Challengers Bangalore


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: